The province of Burdur is located in the Western Mediterranean Region known as Lake District. Burdur is an important city of the Western Mediterranean Region in respect of scenic beauties and cultural wealth. Research conducted at the end of the 19th century and at the beginning of 20th century shows that these regions of Anatolia have been inhabited since prehistoric period. This situation is important for both, the province of Burdur and the history of Anatolian culture because Burdur is one of the centers in which the first social organization and the first commercial activities took shape.

Burdur is surrounded by the provinces of Antalya (to its east and south), Muğla (to its south-west), Denizli (to its west), Afyon and Isparta (to its north). Burdur that is a transition area among the Aegean, Central Anatolian and Mediterranean Regions has been on the ways that connect the West Mediterranean to the Central Anatolia throughout the history.

Burdur is a literate city with its 98% literate population. Its success in OSS and OKS, historical, geographic, economic and cultural fields makes important contribution to the Turkish higher education with the foundation of Mehmet Akif Ersoy University.

Burdur that brings great advantage to the students with its education quality is an easy city in respect of means of transportation. The city is close to big cities such as Antalya, Denizli, Isparta, and is well connected by railway and airports. It has easy road haulage, which makes the lives of people easier. Agriculture and animal husbandry are also important occupations in Burdur, which means students get the opportunity of healthy and cheap nutrition. It is a safe and peaceful city to live in.

Burdur also attracts tourists from different parts of the world to its historical and cultural richness. Some interesting places include Burdur Lake, Salda Lake, İnsuyu Cave, Sagalassos Antique City, barrows. This richness of the city has reached national and international dimension by means of the festivals organized by the local administrations.


Information and Technologies Center © 2009 European Credit Transfer System